Our Founders

In 1982, 13 physicians from Minneapolis Heart Institute® (MHI) had a vision to create MHIF, a nonprofit research organization to fulfill a necessary gap.

The Founders of the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation®

When the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation® (MHIF) was formed, the founding physicians enlisted the help of several community leaders who understood the importance of advancing cardiovascular research and education. Together, they recruited 100 supporters who believed that investing in innovative research was essential to improving cardiovascular health in our community and across the country.

Since 1982, MHIF has referred to the founding cardiologists and initial 100 supporters as the Founders of MHIF. This dedicated group is an important part of the MHIF story, and we’re grateful for their commitment and enthusiasm over the decades.



Top row: Richard Nelson, Orn Arnar, James Daniel, Charles Jorgenson, Robert Van Tassel, William Kelly, William Northrup Middle row: Ted Peterson, Fred Gobel, Kit Arom, Jonathan Rogers, Joe Kiser Front row: Rolf Andreassen, William Lindsay, Demetre Nicollof

Founders Steering Committee

The Steering Committee honors the work of MHIF’s founding leaders throughout the past 38 years, by facilitating the connection and communication with the community through annual meetings, hosting groups and receptions each year in Minnesota, Florida and Arizona as well as creating new community connections and support for MHIF. 

MHIF Founders Steering Committee members in the top photo include (left to right): Conley Brooks, Jr., Robert Hauser, MD, Ben Jaffray, Kristine Fortman, PhD CEO MHIF, Marna Fullerton, Robert Van Tassel, MD, Shirley Bentdahl, Craig Bentdahl.


Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Stay up to date on MHIF news, events and the latest information on heart disease treatment and prevention.

Any Gift, Big or Small, has a Significant Impact on People’s Lives