Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation 2021 Annual Physician Awards Recipients

November 6, 2021

The Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation (MHIF) is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of two annual physician awards:

Robert G. Hauser Leadership and Ray Bentdahl Distinguished Service Awards

Dr. Marc Newell, cardiologist, researcher, and vice president at MHIF, is the recipient of the Robert G. Hauser Leadership Award.

“The Robert G. Hauser award was established by the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation in 2015 to honor an individual whose accomplishments embody the spirit of visionary leadership and innovation,” said Scott Sharkey, MD, chief medical officer, MHIF. “Dr. Newell’s work exemplifies all the characteristics that we look for in a recipient of this award. For example, his landmark work in 2014 to establish the telemedicine program here at Minneapolis Heart Institute and Abbott Northwestern Hospital has opened the doors and broken down barriers of age, geography and the pandemic for many of our patients, allowing them access. “

Dr. M. Nicholas Burke, cardiologist, and associate director, MHIF Center for Coronary Artery Disease, is the recipient of the Ray Bentdahl Distinguished Service Award.

“The individuals who receive this award have really put in time and energy and given so much of themselves. They want better care tomorrow, and they want the community to understand the value of doing it the right way and doing it the better way,” said Kristine Fortman, PhD, MHIF CEO. “This year, we’re celebrating Dr. Nick Burke and he absolutely represents the meaning of this award. Nick is a leader in the community, a leader in the foundation, and a leader in the practice. He has been a voice of reason and vision, and a trusted leader.”

Watch the award videos to learn more about the honorees:

About the Awards

The Robert G. Hauser Leadership Award recognizes an individual who promotes visionary leadership. Innovation in clinical practice and research requires champions who take risks to identify necessary changes and create innovative solutions to set those improvements in motion. The award is given to an individual who is a catalyst in cardiovascular disease prevention or treatment, strongly advocates for patients and the profession, demonstrates visionary leadership and a strong commitment to excellence, and provides leadership to Minneapolis Heart Institute® (MHI), MHIF and other organizations. Thanks to a generous donor, the honoree receives up to $10,000 to be used for innovation or leadership training.

The Ray Bentdahl Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual’s contributions to MHIF and accomplishments as an outstanding leader, mentor, philanthropist, educator or researcher. This award specifically honors an individual whose achievements embody the qualities of an outstanding leader, recognizing exceptional service to the foundation that is reflected in the organization delivering exemplary service to its valued constituents. The award was first awarded in September 2012 and as of 2019, the Bentdahl family makes a $5,000 gift to MHIF in honor of the recipient, to an area of work determined by the recipient.

Get Email Updates!

Stay up to date on MHIF news, events and the latest information on heart disease treatment and prevention.